September 11th

September 11th {Something Decorated}

via

Just like every other American in our country who was alive on September 11th, 2001, and those from far away who remember it with us, that day is still so alive in my brain.  I was young… Thirteen, to be exact.  I don’t remember a lot of things from that year, my first year of middle school, but I do remember this day.

My dad shook me awake earlier than usual that morning, and he had the Today Show on TV in the living room.  He told me that two planes had hit the World Trade Center.  The first words that came out of my mouth were, “On accident?”

There is an element of innocence that was taken away from so many of us on that day.  Our country suffered a huge loss as so many people died at the hands of this tragic event, and more lives were lost as the war waged on throughout the many years since.  But on that day, and the days after, there was a sense of unity that even a thirteen-year-old girl could feel.  I wish every day we as humans could remember to love our neighbors as strongly as we did that day.  Sometimes I feel like there is a huge sense of compassion missing from the outside world, and while there are days that it makes me sad and angry, there are other days it makes me smile and try that much harder.

It just makes sense to take a day from blogging about the beautiful things in the world, and instead reflect on the beauty in human connection and the hearts that we extend outside of our own bodies for others.  Let’s never forget the pride that we have in our country, and the love that we have for our fellow humankind, not just today, but every day.  A smile, a hug, a thank you, an I love you can go such a long way.  Let us be reminded of that.

xoxo, Maria

Leave a Reply

